Stephen Hasner | Workers' Compensation | September 18, 2013
On May 6, 2013, Governor Deal signed House Bill 154, which brings about a few significant changes to the Georgia workers’ compensation system, effective July 1, 2013.
Those changes include:
- For those accidents occurring on or after July 1, 2013:
a. Increases in TTD ($500 to $525) and TPD ($334 to $350) cap amounts.
b. Medical benefits capped at 400 weeks.
c. Modification of the rules governing a return to work. An employee who is properly offered a suitable light-duty job must attempt that job for the greater of (i) 8 cumulative hours or (ii) 1 scheduled workday.
- Changes related to the reimbursement of mileage expenses. The insurance company now has to reimburse the employee for mileage expenses within 15 days from the date they receive the request.
Injured workers in Georgia should to be aware of these recent changes and should seek the advice of an experienced Atlanta workers’ compensation lawyer at Hasner Law PC.
Call Hasner Law PC to Speak With a Workers’ Compensation Attorney in Atlanta Today
We serve in Fulton County, Chatham County, and its surrounding areas: