Stephen Hasner | Workers' Compensation | July 8, 2013
So you’re hurt on the job – could be a motor vehicle accident while making a delivery; could be that you’ve hurt your back unloading a truck. Whether major or minor, and whether it’s your first day or 201st, you’re most likely eligible for workers’ compensation benefits.
What Do I Do If I Was Hurt at Work?
In Georgia, if your injury arises out of and in the course of your employment and is a result of accident, repetitive motion or toxin exposure, your injury is covered by workers’ compensation. But, don’t rely on your employer or the insurance company to do the right thing.
Our experience has been the opposite. Employers and their insurance companies tend to want to avoid the extra costs that an injury creates for them. Take the initiative – in fact, under Georgia law, you do have some responsibilities, especially in the beginning.
Notify your employer immediately. We cannot stress this enough. Under Georgia law, you must report your injury not later than 30 days after the accident. Don’t wait. It looks bad to insurance companies and judges if you don’t report your injury until later.
Don’t fall for this (typical) line from your boss: “Don’t report it. I’ll take care of it. We don’t need to involve the insurance company.” This could cause you to lose all future rights to any medical treatment and workers’ compensation checks.
In fact, the deadline to file a notice of claim with the Georgia State Board of Workers’ Compensation is 1 year from the date of injury.
Atlanta Workers’ Comp Attorney
Seek medical attention. Ask your employer for the “panel of physicians.” This is a list of doctors that every employer is required to post in the workplace. If your employer gives you the runaround and is not providing medical treatment in a timely manner, call Hasner Law and we’ll help you get to the right doctor.
Just let your employer know about the visit to the doctor and make sure your work injury lawyer at Hasner Law is aware of the visit.