Stephen Hasner | Workers' Compensation | May 5, 2023
If you are injured on the job in Atlanta, you might be entitled to workers’ compensation benefits. Workers’ comp benefits include medical treatment for your injuries at no cost to you. Your employer or its workers’ compensation insurance provider pays for your medical care.
You might also receive wage replacement benefits if your workplace injury prevents you from returning to work. Temporary total disability (TTD) benefits pay you for a portion of the income you lose because of a workplace accident. Learn about how long it will take to receive your check for these benefits in Atlanta here.
When Can I Expect a Workers’ Compensation Check After an Atlanta Workplace Accident?
TTD benefits equal about two-thirds of your average weekly wages before the work injury. You can receive a check for lost wages after being out of work for seven days because of a work-related injury.
The insurance company should mail a check within three weeks after your injury. If you choose direct deposit for your workers’ compensation check, you might receive the check sooner than if the company mails you a check.
If you are out of work for more than 21 days because of your injury, you can receive compensation for the first seven days of missed work. The company may issue a separate check for the first seven days or include the amount in the next workers’ comp check you receive after the 21st day of missed work.
What Happens if I Don’t Receive My Workers’ Compensation Check After an On-the-Job Injury in Atlanta?
You might not receive a Georgia workers’ compensation check for several reasons. Common reasons why you would not receive a workers’ comp check after a workplace accident include, but are not limited to:
- Your workers’ compensation claim is denied.
- The mail was delayed because of weather conditions, the post office, or reasons not within the control of the workers’ comp insurance provider.
- You moved and did not notify the workers’ comp insurance company of your new address
- Your doctor released you to return to work.
- A clerical mistake by the workers’ comp insurance company delayed the processing of your claim or mailing of your check.
- You went back to work because you reached maximum medical improvement (MMI).
- A new person is handling your claim and is not familiar with the status of your claim.
Call the insurance company if you do not receive your workers’ comp check. If the company does not respond to your call or refuses to tell you why you did not receive a workers’ comp check, seek legal advice from an experienced Atlanta workers’ compensation lawyer.
Are There Penalties for Failing To Pay Workers’ Comp Benefits When They Are Due?
Injured workers have rights under Georgia workers’ compensation laws. The law requires a workers’ compensation insurance provider to make timely payments of workers’ compensation benefits. If the company does not pay your benefits when they are due, the company might have to pay a 15% penalty for late payment.
If your workers’ compensation payment is more than 20 days late, the penalty increases to 20 percent. The Georgia State Board of Workers’ Compensation can waive the penalty in some situations. If you believe you are entitled to a late fee because you did not receive your workers’ comp check on time, talk with a lawyer about your rights as an injured worker.
Steps You Can Take To Avoid Delays to Your Workers’ Compensation Check in Atlanta, GA
You are required to report your work-related injury within 30 days after the accident. You could lose your worker’s compensation benefits if you do not report your injury within 30 days.
However, the other reason to report a work injury immediately is to receive your workers’ compensation check as soon as possible. The longer you wait to report a work injury, the longer it takes to start your workers’ compensation benefits.
If you need emergency medical treatment, go to the nearest emergency room. Otherwise, check with your employer or its workers’ compensation insurance company for a list of approved doctors. With few exceptions, you must seek treatment from a doctor on the list of approved physicians.
Follow your doctor’s treatment plan. Failing to follow the treatment plan could result in a denial of workers’ comp benefits. If you disagree with your diagnosis or the treatment plan for a work-related injury, talk with your workers’ compensation lawyer. Your attorney can help you take steps to obtain a second opinion and an independent medical examination.
You are not required to hire an Atlanta workers’ comp attorney. However, you have the right to consult a lawyer about your claim. Talking with a lawyer can help you understand your rights after a workplace accident.
Contact the Atlanta Workers’ Compensation Lawyers at Hasner Law, P.C. For Help
For more information, please contact the Atlanta workers’ compensation law firm of Hasner Law P.C. at our nearest location to schedule a free consultation today.
We serve in Fulton County, Chatham County, and its surrounding areas:
Hasner Law PC – Atlanta Law Office
2839 Paces Ferry Rd SE #1050
Atlanta, GA 30339
Hasner Law PC – Savannah Law Office
221 W York St
Savannah, GA 31401