Stephen Hasner | Workers' Compensation | February 13, 2018
What Is a Workers’ Compensation Claim?
When you find yourself dealing with an injury at work, understanding workers’ compensation and how to file a claim is an important piece of the process. Under Georgia’s Workers’ Compensation Law, any business with three or more workers, including regular part-time workers, must have insurance covering medical costs and lost wages for workers injured on the job. This is known as workers’ compensation insurance. A record of businesses affected by the law is available through the Georgia State Board of Workers’ Compensation Coverage Desk.
If you are an employee working for a business affected by the law, you will have insurance from your first day on the job. If you sustain an injury on the job, you can file a workers’ compensation insurance claim that will help you pay your medical bills and compensate you for your lost wages. The purpose of workers’ compensation is to protect people who are injured in the workplace.
How Do I File A Workers’ Compensation Claim?
If you’re injured on the job, you should know how to file a workers’ compensation claim. It is important to follow all of the steps in order to submit a valid claim. Make sure you:
- Report your injury to your boss, foreperson, or supervisor (employer) within 30 days of the accident;
- Don’t report your injury to your employer more than 30 days after the accident because that could result in losing your benefits;
- Obtain a WC-14, the Workers’ Compensation Claim form, by writing the State Board of Workers’ Compensation at 270 Peachtree Street, NW Atlanta, GA 30303-1299 or by calling (404) 656-3818 (outside the metro Atlanta area, call 1-800-533-0682);
- Complete and file a WC-14 form with the State Board of Workers’ Compensation;
- Send a copy of the WC-14 form to your employer and your employer’s workers’ compensation insurer; and,
- File your WC-14 form within one year of the accident to claim your rights under the law.
Remember that Georgia law guarantees you the right to request a hearing if your claim is denied. These hearings are normally scheduled about two months after a hearing is approved, a judge is assigned, and the judge receives the claimant’s WC-14 form. For more information, check the Georgia State Board of Workers’ Compensation website.
Contact A Georgia Workers’ Compensation Attorney Now To File Your Claim
A workplace injury can lead to a stressful situation. Lost wages, medical bills, and personal expenses can create serious problems when you’re hurt on the job and can’t work. You need the support of experienced workers’s compensation attorneys who will work with you to get you your benefits. As the State Board of Workers’ Compensation’s own website says, “your employer may be represented at the hearing by a lawyer. You may need help from a lawyer in order to present your claim properly.”
Contact the Atlanta Workers’ Compensation Lawyers at Hasner Law PC For Help
If you have been injured on the job, your first step should be to seek medical attention and then contact the workers’ compensation experts at Hasner Law PC.
For more information, please contact the Atlanta workers’ compensation law firm of Hasner Law P.C. at our nearest location to schedule a free consultation today.
We serve in Fulton County, Chatham County, and its surrounding areas:
Hasner Law PC – Atlanta Law Office
2839 Paces Ferry Rd SE #1050
Atlanta, GA 30339
Hasner Law PC – Savannah Law Office
221 W York St
Savannah, GA 31401